>Food Should Taste Good – REVIEW & GIVEAWAY

>
Another review and giveaway, two in one day! This one, not just for parents though… Everyone likes to eat!

We were lucky enough to try some delicious chips from Food Should Taste Good. I was allowed to choose 5 different flavors, and they came packaged in a beautiful black logo box (see below) and timing couldn’t be more perfect, they came a week before Lilian’s 2nd birthday party, so I shared them with our party guests.

I chose blue corn, cheddar, chocolate, multigrain, and olive to get a good sampling. Other flavors also include jalapeno, the works!, sweet potato, lime, and yellow corn (forgive me if I forgot any flavors, but I think I got them all!) I arranged them in an adorable starfish chip dish with some salsa in the middle.


Pictured below starting at the top and going clockwise is cheddar, multigrain, chocolate, olive, and blue corn. (Click on photo to see it larger)

And man, were they all delicious! And my guests thought so too. Hopefully some of my guests will comment here and say which they liked best, but by the end of the party, the dish was completely empty, but the regular Tostidos, Doritos, pita chips, and potato chips each had half a basket remaining, so people either liked the fancy chips… or preferred eating out of a pink starfish!

Lilian is a huge fan of chips. In her Easter basket this year, she got candy, toys, and a big green shiny bag of Herrs sour cream and onion chips, and she went for the chips first and ignored the toys and chocolate. It’s her favorite snack food, so her opinion really matters to me. But also important, is the ingredients and nutritional content of these chips. Lilian liked all 5 flavors we tried, but she keeps going back for the chocolate. But the days after the party, I gave her just one bag at a time, and she likes them all. But also important to me, is what is inside. You can read all the ingredients on the Food Should Taste Good website, but besides corn and sea salt and natural oils, there are healthy things in there like soy protein, quinoa, oat fiber, flax seeds, sunflower seeds, etc. There are no “chemicals I can’t pronounce” listed in the ingredients, and that makes me feel good. The chips average about 7 grams of fat per serving (which isn’t that bad for a chip), around 140 calories, but about 3 grams of protein. I feel good about feeding Lilian healthy, whole grain ingredients instead of some bleached potatoes or corn, chemicals, high fructose corn syrup, and salt.

And the fancy flavors… are divine.

Blue Corn: tastes like a classic tortilla chip. For what it’s worth, I’d consider these “plain” flavored. But they were crispy, salty, and delicious! To me, a perfect tortilla chip, great for salsa or other classic Mexican recipes. As a warning though, they are VERY salty, so if you are sensitive to that or can’t eat that, they may not be the chip for you. For me, salt = delicious, so it’s not a problem.

Multigrain: somewhere between a chip and a cracker, they were slightly thicker than the corn chips. The seeds and grains are very visible and obvious, they LOOK healthy! They have a pretty shape (hexagon) and look great in a dish. They were delicious, very full tasting. I love the taste of whole grain products (i hate the plain, bland taste of white bread or other bleached foods), and so these tasted naturally delicious to me.

Cheddar: These chips are the same as the multigrain, but with some added cheese powder. They reminded me of the cheddar Sun Chips if you’ve ever had those, only without the ridges. The cheese was very tasty, and didn’t have the horrific neon orange color of some more artificial chips.

Olive: The winner for me. If you’ve been following my blog since way back when I was pregnant, you’ll know that I was never an olive-eater before pregnancy, but my pregnancy craving was olives… the aglio (garlic) gourmet ones you get from olive bars. Several times a week, I’d have to run out and get more, and these were the guilty pleasure that got me through pregnancy. And funny enough, since she was old enough to eat, Lilian has loved olives too. When I tried these chips at the party, dipped in salsa, they were good, but I wasn’t in love. But trying them again today, plain, I’m in love. The flavor is subtle, yet intense. If you are an olive lover, you’ll be impressed at how they’ve captured the flavor in a chip without it being overwhelming. Even my wife, Missy, who is NOT an olive lover, loved these chips. When I go out to purchase more, this will be the first flavor I buy.

Chocolate: most people saw the bag and said “ew.” But these were surprisingly good. They are still salty like a tortilla chip should be, but they have an understated chocolate aftertaste. They are made with semisweet chocolate and cocoa powder, so they are not sweet or overly rich. It’s a corn chip with a pure cocoa aftertaste. I did try dipping it in salsa and it wasn’t bad, but I could sit and eat them plain. And Missy had a fabulous idea to make “dessert nachos” with them – throw some ice cream, bananas, caramel on top and make a nacho plate. We haven’t tried it yet (we need a new bag), but we will!

All 5 were yummy though, and I need to go out and buy the lime and the works! because I regret not trying those! I saw that they carry the brand at my local Stop and Shop in the health food aisle, but the website has a list of retailers where you can purchase these. This will definitely be something I purchase for my family in the future, and I’ll feel good about.

WANT TO TRY?

Food Should Taste Good is going to send one box of 5 full size bags (like mine) to one lucky reader. You can choose any of the 5 flavors and mix and match.

Mandatory Entry:
You must be a public follower of my blog either via Google reader/friend connect or Networked blogs. Just leave a comment and tell me why you’d like to try these and which 5 flavors you want. Visit the Food Should Taste Good website to see all the flavors you may choose from.

Additional Entries (all worth one unless otherwise specified) Please leave SEPARATE comments for each entry you are entitled to:
* Like Lil Family Blog on Facebook
* Join/like Food Should Taste Good on Facebook .
* Click on both the “Top Mommy” brown button and “Picket Fence” buttons on the right of my page to vote for Lil Family Blog on both sites. (worth 1 total entry)
* Click on the black Swagbucks button on the right and sign up as my referral. (Will be verified on the Swagbucks site).
* Add one of my buttons to your site (again, on the right of my page, copy the text below the button and then paste it onto the sidebar of your blog). Worth 2 entries.
* Post about this giveaway on your blog or site and leave me a link where I can see it.
* Share this contest on
Facebook. (Can be done easily with the little “F” icon on the bottom of this entry near the comments).
* Add me to your
blogroll/blog list on your site.
* You get one additional entry for every friend/family member you get to enter (they have to leave an extra comment saying who sent them).

Good luck to everyone entering!

This contest will end on September 9, 2010 at 11:59PM EST, no more entries will be accepted after that time. The winner will be chosen at random and announced within a day or two on the blog. The prize will be shipped directly from Food Should Taste Good to the winner within a reasonable amount of time. Please see my disclosure link on the top of the page for fine print.

Food Should Taste Good sent me these products for free to try and review, but all photos, words, and opinions are my own. My photos may not be used elsewhere without my permission.

And while you’re here, PLEASE click on an ad or two! My advertisers like it and so do I… and it really does help! Thanks! Seriously, go click one!

Like giveaways? Click the link on the top of the page to see ALL the giveaways I am currently offering!

Posted on August 23, 2010, in birthdays, food, Food Should Taste Good, giveaway, parties, photos, review. Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. >#1: Voted on the sites at the top of the blog. 🙂 The kinds I like: Cheddar, Sweet Potato, MultiGrain, The Works, and Lime. (Although Chocolate intrigues me, too.)

  2. >#2: Added you to the "Sites of Interest" on my blog (www.misspresident.net), although I couldn't add the button… bah. Jenn Liddle (Miss President)

  3. >#3: Posted about your contest on my blog (www.misspresident.net). :)Jenn Liddle (Miss President)

  4. >#4: I linked to your blog contest on FB. (which you've already seen!) Jenn Liddle (Miss President)

  5. >I tried each of these on Saturday. ALL of them were awesome and the chocolate ones were my FAVORITE! xoxo

  6. >Mmmm the Chedder sound like they would be really good with my chili dip:)

  7. >following u on network blogs and i likeMultigrainChocolatethe Workslimeand blue corndrea8685@yahoo.com

  8. >GFC Follower Ms.SmithI want to try this because I like try natural products.I would like the Cheddar, yellow corn, the works, blue corn, and olive.atlmuzikfanzinc at gmail dot com

  9. >liked lil family blog on FB–Sable Satlmuzikfanzinc at gmail dot com

  10. >liked food should taste good on FB—Sable Satlmuzikfanzinc at gmail dot com

  11. >voted on top mommy and picket fenceatlmuzikfanzinc at gmail dot com

  12. >shared giveaway on FBhttp://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=74201768&v=wall&story_fbid=102360189823783atlmuzikfanzinc at gmail dot com

  13. >added you to my blog listhttp://gotgiveawayinfo.blogspot.comatlmuzikfanzinc at gmail dot com

  14. >posted button on my bloghttp://gotgiveawayinfo.blogspot.comatlmuzikfanzinc at gmail dot com

  15. >posted button on my bloghttp://gotgiveawayinfo.blogspot.comatlmuzikfanzinc at gmail dot com

Leave a Reply

