>REVIEW/GIVEAWAY – Healthy Hair Plus

>
Lil Family Blog was given the chance to review a shampoo/conditioner combo from Healthy Hair Plus. If you know me, then you know that most of my life I’ve had long hair. Growing up it was always longer than shoulder length, in high school and college it was very long, I had a short hair “phase” and now it’s long again. It’s not straight, but not curly either. It has a bit of a wave to it, but I’d prefer to wear it straight(er). My hair is on the dry side and tangles easily. And if you’ve ever had long hair, you know it’s a PAIN to brush after a shower.

So Healthy Hair Plus sent me Sleek and Straight shampoo and the Sleek and straight conditioner.

The shampoo comes in a 16 oz bottle and the conditioner comes in an 8 oz bottle (which for me is a little backwards, because I always tend to use a bit more conditioner than shampoo). The website says of the shampoo it Restores life and smooths out hair. This gentle moisturizing shampoo is enhanced with plant extracts for gentle and complete smoothing of hair. A generous lather restores life, moisture, bounce, and body while fighting frizz. Natural moisturizing botanicals and gentle cleansers for dry, brittle hair.” Some of the ingredients that stand out are aloe, sage extract, melissa extract, witch hazel, and other herbs. It is meant to smooth and moisturize hair to control frizz. The shampoo smells like coconut (and summer).

The conditioner is said to: nourish and enrich hair while leveling & smoothing. Sleek and Straight® Conditioner for straight hair seals in moisture and locks out humidity to aid in styling straight hair and fighting frizzing.” It also has a lot of herbs in it such as extracts of: Matricaria, Sage, Cranesbill, Yarrow, Balm Mint, Lemongrass, Oak Bark, Witch Hazel, Rose Hips and peppermint essential oil. It smells like peppermint and leaves a slightly tingly feeling on your scalp.

So… how did it work for me???
In short… excellent! I used the set for about a week, and although it doesn’t make my hair “straight”, it does control the frizz and helps weigh it down a bit for a sleeker look. Since my hair is on the dry side and very long, I need a deep moisturizing shampoo and conditioner and this offered that. My hair feels soft and silky and not dried out at all. After showering, I was able to brush out my hair with minimal tangles and let it air dry.
While we were away for the weekend for Lilian’s birthday, I also used the shampoo on her and my wife used it as well! Missy (my wife) asked where I got it… because she liked it so much. And Lilian’s hair has a bit of a wave/curl to it like mine also, and the third day we were away, she got a lot of compliments on having a “good hair day”, so it seems to help her too! My only complaint is that although they both smell very good, it’s kind of strange to me that they don’t smell the same, or at least coordinate better. I’d never imagine putting coconut and peppermint together. I prefer the mint fragrance, but I’m not a huge fan of coconut anyway. I would definitely buy this product though (and I might when these run out!)


Want to try it???

Healthy Hair Plus is giving not one, but TWO of my readers a Sleek and Straight shampoo/conditioner combo to try out.

Mandatory Entry:
You must be a public follower of my blog either via Google reader/friend connect or Networked blogs. Just leave a comment and tell me something about your hair care routine or some interesting face about your hair.

Additional Entries (all worth one unless otherwise specified) Please leave SEPARATE comments for each entry you are entitled to:
* Like Lil Family Blog on Facebook
* Click on both the “Top Mommy” brown button and “Picket Fence” buttons on the right of my page to vote for Lil Family Blog on both sites. (worth 1 total entry)
* Click on the black Swagbucks button on the right and sign up as my referral. (Will be verified on the Swagbucks site).
* Add one of my buttons to your site (again, on the right of my page, copy the text below the button and then paste it onto the sidebar of your blog). Worth 2 entries.
* Post about this giveaway on your blog or site and leave me a link where I can see it.
* Share this contest on
Facebook. (Can be done easily with the little “F” icon on the bottom of this entry near the comments).
* Add me to your
blogroll/blog list on your site.
* You get one additional entry for every friend/family member you get to enter (they have to leave an extra comment saying who sent them).

So all together including the mandatory entry, each person can get 9 entries on their own, plus an infinite amount if they get their friends and family to come and enter as referrals! Remember to leave a separate comment for each entry you’re entitled to.

This contest will end on September 1, 2010 at 11:59PM EST, no more entries will be accepted after that time. The winners will be chosen at random and announced within a day or two on the blog. The prize will be shipped directly from Healthy Hair Plus to the winner within a reasonable amount of time. Please see my disclosure link on the top of the page for fine print.

Healthy Hair Plus sent me these products for free to try and review, but all photos, words, and opinions are my own (except those quoted). My photo may not be used elsewhere without my permission.

And while you’re here, PLEASE click on an ad or two! My advertisers like it and so do I… and it really does help! Thanks!

Like giveaways? Click the link on the top of the page to see ALL the giveaways I am currently offering!

Posted on August 16, 2010, in bath/beauty, giveaway, hair, Healthy Hair Plus, review. Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. >hey, i thought i had to have a blogger profile to follow your blog. guess not!i am really interested in this shampoo and conditioner. since growing out my hair, i've had a lot of trouble with it being tangly after taking a shower. plus, it just gets so frizzy, especially on more humid days. and on days that i have to blow dry it for work, it's out of control with frizz! so i'm always on the look-out for something that works. i've got my fingers crossed!mary

  2. >also, i am already a fan of lil family blog on facebook – does that count, too?mary

  3. >My hair tends to go a little wild in the humid midwest summer, then it gets dried out in the winter. I always try to wear it straight, but the humidity does its best to keep it from being too sleek. Maybe this shampoo/conditioner could help me fight my hair battle??shannatempel@hotmail.com

  4. >I like you on fb!shannatempel@hotmail.com

  5. >I am following u threw network blogs under my facebook name..andrea dimarioand my hairs really dark and straight! so I would LOVe 2 try this product out!! Also great blog! enjoyed reading about you and your family =)

  6. >gfc follower Ms.SmithI only use four products on my hair, and I try to make sure their natural.altmuzikfanzinc at gmail dot com

  7. >liked lil family blog on FB—Sable Satlmuzikfanzinc at gmail dot com

  8. >voted on top mommy and picket fenceatlmuzikfanzinc at gmail dot com

  9. >posted your button on my bloghttp://gotgiveawayinfo.blogspot.comatlmuzikfanzinc at gmail dot com

  10. >posted your button on my bloghttp://gotgiveawayinfo.blogspot.comatlmuzikfanzinc at gmail dot com

  11. >shared this giveaway on FBhttp://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=74201768&v=wall&story_fbid=139484012760103atlmuzikfanzinc at gmail dot com

  12. >added you to my blog listhttp://gotgiveawayinfo.blogspot.comatlmuzikfanzinc at gmail dot com

  13. >I follow you!!My hair is super fine so i try not to do anything to it. once i dyed it black for fun and i actually had to get it blached and stripped to get it out. ouch

  14. >i like lil family blog on FB

  15. >i voted for you on both sites

  16. >i signed up for you as my referral last time lol. so i dont think i get an entry for this. so on to the next one!I shared this on FB

  17. I think that what you said was actually very reasonable. However, what about
    this? suppose you typed a catchier post title? I am not suggesting your content isn’t good., but suppose you added a post title that grabbed people’s attention?
    I mean >REVIEW/GIVEAWAY – Healthy Hair Plus « Lil Family Blog is a little boring.
    You could look at Yahoo’s home page and see how they create post titles to get viewers to click. You might add a related video or a related pic or two to get readers excited about everything’ve got to say.
    Just my opinion, it might bring your blog a little livelier.

Leave a Reply

