>Choosing Your Family

>“You can choose your friends but you sho’ can’t choose your family, an’ they’re still kin to you no matter whether you acknowledge ’em or not, and it makes you look right silly when you don’t.” –– Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird


I disagree. You can choose your family. Family is what you make of it, and I certainly have an unusual one. But family isn’t just blood & DNA. It isn’t just parents and children and siblings. Family is familiarity, intimacy, love, forgiveness, and respect. Family is generosity, celebration, support, and encouragement.

In the past few years, I’ve learned more about family than I imagined possible… and I am grateful for the family I choose. You know who you are.





Posted on June 20, 2010, in books, family, quotes. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. >So very, very true and well said!

  2. >So true. While you can't pick the family you are born into, DNA is such a minor part of family. I know a few women that I regard as my sisters. Hehe, in fact, I refer to them as my sisters-by-choice.~ICLW#17

  3. >I'm with you on this 100%. The family we chose is the one that has been there for us through everything, while our biological families…not so much.

  4. >So true. My biological family has been miserable to me though out the years, and I've always went back because it was drilled into my head, they're family. However my friends have been the ones there for me every step of the way. It took long time to understand what family really meant.

  5. >Totally. Too much emotion about this topic to type so all I've got for you right now is "totally".

Leave a Reply

